Skip to main content


SBIS Board terms of reference

25th March 2024 

PURPOSE: To champion the independence of the SBIS. To oversee the work of the Information Service, providing policy and strategic guidance and approving annual and strategic business plans To approve the use of public monies by the Service through annual and strategic budgets To provide a forum for discussion about new recording initiatives.

MEMBERSHIP: Current representatives in brackets Suffolk County Council (Tim de Keyzer, Andrew Murray-Wood), Natural England (John Jackson), Environment Agency (Chris Strachan), Suffolk Wildlife Trust (Rupert Masefield), Suffolk Naturalists' Society (Vacant), RSPB (Jacqui Miller), Essex & Suffolk Water (Helen Jacobs), IBC/Ipswich Museum (Sarah Barker), plus 1 from each pair of local authorities: West Suffolk Council (Damien Parker), Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils (Richard Parmee), East Suffolk Council (James Meyer) with 2 non-voting supporting officers from SBIS (Martin Sanford, plus Hannah Alred or Emma Aldous), and specific expertise as required.

MEMBER’S ROLE: To work together to identify a common way forward for the local authorities and other funders in terms of managing and supporting SBIS To represent their authority/organisation’s interest in the use of public funds by SBIS To promote due regard and give advice on the use of SBIS services in their organisation To monitor the work of SBIS and advise on the future development of the service.

TIMING: Meets at least 2 times a year

INFORMS: Minutes are made available on the website

OPERATION: Chair elected from committee membership. Whilst normally, issues will be decided by consensus, if a vote is necessary, each Member will be allowed one vote. The chair has an additional casting vote. Decisions are based on a majority.    

SBIS is supported by a consortium of stakeholders including: Suffolk County Council, Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils, Ipswich Borough Council, West Suffolk Council, East Suffolk Council, Essex & Suffolk Water, Environment Agency, Suffolk Wildlife Trust and the Suffolk Naturalists’ Society.